Did John Jackson really demolish scorching as a mechanism? Maybe someone could explain to me how (in simple terms)

This comment  has recently appeared on The Other Site:

September 8, 2012 at 9:10 pm | #3

It is well known fact that Dr Jackson et al. confirmed way back in the early 80′s, that scourching a linen to conform to the body features and superficiality is literally impossible. They came to this conclusion through a series of ‘controlled, repeatable experiments’. Why the scorch method of image production is still being brought-up is a mystery to me. It’s been beaten to death, already!

R

Beaten to death eh?  Well, I had a brief encounter some months ago with STURP’s illustrious John Jackson, if a broadside on my ideas – with no response to my response (if you see what I mean) could be said to qualify as an “encounter”. Here’s a link to that encounter.

John Jackson on scorching

I invite readers to see what Jackson said, then to read my response – and my defence of scorching – noting carefully that Jackson is clearly wedded to a radiation hypothesis which frankly I consider lacks any theoretical or experimental justification. (Infrared, i.e. “heat”  radiation does not scorch linen  – at least below red heat- unless an opaque pigment is present to trap the radiation, without which it is scattered/reflected).

Sorry Ron, but I do not believe that John Jackson has beaten the scorch theory to death. I believe his experimental protocol was needlessly complex (I’m still trying to figure out his thinking) and in any case he got it totally wrong where heat radiation is concerned.

But I still think his demonstration that a thermal imprint from a 3D bas relief has encoded 3D information – as I too have subsequently demonstrated – see banner graphics above – was a landmark in Shroud science. I raise my hat to him, even if he got the right result for the wrong reasons …  That’s the intriguing thing about science – it rarely works in straight lines, it’s a wonder it works at all, but it usually gets there finally, in spite of itself….

Colin Berry PhD (Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine/London University, 1975)

 

Further reading: I did a post in late January in which I reviewed John P Jackson’s work on bas relief templates, 3D enhancement etc.  That was before the brief encounter described above.

Link:   http://colinb-sciencebuzz.blogspot.co.uk/2012/01/forget-those-miraculous-flashes-of.html

 

About Colin Berry

Retired science bod, previous research interests: phototherapy of neonatal jaundice, membrane influences on microsomal UDP-glucuronyltransferase, defective bilirubin and xenobiotic conjugation and hepatic excretion, dietary fibre and resistant starch.
This entry was posted in Shroud of Turin and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

